Posted in spiritual

Who Am I?

God, What am I to you?

Your word tells me I am precious, that I am special to you.Your word tells me that you wanted me so much that you and Jesus couldn’t stand the thought of not being with me, so you chose to do something drastic. You sent a  very precious part of yourself to earth, knowing full well what he would experience. As a parent, my heart breaks for your pain. Am i truly such a great prize that knowing exactly what we would put Jesus through, you still loved me enough to send Him.

I know that to many as a parent I seem cruel because I let my children face things that are daunting and difficult and I cheer them on when what they are doing becomes tough. I know that to the world, the most important thing a parent is supposed to do is protect their child, to make their child happy. But, God, this is a tough world. I arm my children against the unexpected disappointments, the sudden changes that rock their world. I want to teach them a reliance on you so that when life fails they know you never will.

Yet, You, you and Jesus, decided that He would be born as a baby and live in this human world knowing _exactly_ what would happen to him. You knew, from the first time he skinned his knee, to the last strike of the nail, exactly how much pain He was going to feel. Yet, you, Jesus, You chose to come anyway.

Am I truly that precious to you?

I am a failure. I have sinned. I have chosen things other than you to follow. Am I still worth it, Jesus?

You, who made the heavens and the earth. Who with care and precision placed each star perfectly. You, chose me?!

What am I supposed to do now? How am I supposed to respond to this? What do you want me to do? Do you want me to give away all that I have? Do I refuse the world and isolate myself so that I can not be distracted and follow you? What do you want from me?

Matthew 11:28 “Come unto me, all ye that labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Matthew 5:14 “Ye are the light of the world. A city that is set on an hill cannot be hid.15 Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel (basket), but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house.16 Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in Heaven.”

John 15:13 “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. 16 Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you.”

Jesus says He loves us. In John 17 verses 20-26 Jesus asked specific things for us (you and me) from God, the Father. He asked that we become one with him (have an intimate relationship), that the glory (dignity, honor, praise, worship) which God had given him would be reflected in us, that we would be made perfect (finished, fulfilled, consecrated), That the world (and us) would know that He sent us and that …..He loves us….. just the same way He loves Jesus.

Who am I? I am the most beloved of the king. I am a work in progress. I am designed by God and for God because He loves me and wants me to love Him back. Because I choose to be, I am His.

Please, choose to be His with me.

Author:

I love to pray. I love to teach. I love to read. I love to talk about God.

Leave a Reply

