Posted in spiritual

Getting Ready

I found this post on Facebook the other day and the friend who posted it mentioned that despite the possibility of it getting him in trouble this gave him a laugh.

He’s right. If I look at this with the eyes of a woman living in 2015 this looks outrageous but let’s take another look.

*Prepare yourself mentally for……* an encounter, a challenge, a trial, a pleasure, etc. Prepare yourself mentally. How many times have we entered our day without preparing for it? Are you like me? Some days it seems all I do is react. Some days it’s like there is no opportunity to “get my feet under me” (ref. a runners starting pose or a martial artist ready stance). These days, leave me exhausted, battered, grumpy, confused, feeling as if I had accomplished nothing.

But what about the days where I do “prepare myself mentally”? The days where I wake up and it seems like my mind is on Jesus. :) Where I begin my day in conversation with Him. :) These are the days where it seems that “I’ve got this”. These are the days where I don’t attempt to take on the world, I take the world to Jesus. Knowing that He’s “got this”. These are the days where I go forward “on purpose,” where I deliberately choose to face the day instead of trying to hide and just react.

*Good results are difficult when indifference predominates.*

*Never try to sew with a sink full of dirty dishes or beds unmade.* Have you ever tried to do something but it seemed like something else had all your attention. Lets use prayer for an example. You get ready to pray and it seems like you are fighting a battle. All of a sudden all you can think about is, “did I pay the light bill? did Johnny get to school on time?” And so on and so on. Take a pencil and paper with you and jot down these thoughts. Sometime they are just straight up distraction from talking to God. Sometimes, they’re God saying ” This needs to be addressed.” There have been many times in my life where I didn’t want to be proactive, I didn’t want to “take care of business” and just wanted to let life make it’s own decisions for me. (be lazy) Yet I have found that there is a freedom of thought, a peace, that comes from knowing that what I can do, I have done.

*When there are urgent housekeeping chores, do these first so your mind is free to enjoy your sewing..*

*When you sew make yourself as attractive as possible.* When we plan to start something new how we look at ourselves will determine the success or failure of what we are about to do. If  I plan to enter a battle and my armor is not clean, my weapons are rusty and my skills undeveloped, I will already believe that I will be defeated. BUT, If I have done everything I knew to do in preparation and I have full faith that God has got my back, then, it is time to battle.

*Put on a clean dress…….Have your hair in order, powder and lipstick on…*

*If you are constantly fearful that a visitor will drop in or your husband will come home and you will not look neatly out together,..* Are we ready for Jesus to stop by? Are we facing our battles fully dressed, full of faith and joy that we get to be doing this for God? Are we, like little children, saying, “God, God, look at this! Look at what we did together isn’t it beautiful?!” Too many people say they want Jesus to come soon but, oh, just wait while I do this, or, Jesus, I want to be saved but just let me try this first, or, Sure, Jesus, I want to get serious about you BUT…

*If you are constantly fearful that a visitor will drop in or your husband will come home and you will not look neatly put together, you will not enjoy your sewing as you should.*

Author:

I love to pray. I love to teach. I love to read. I love to talk about God.

Leave a Reply

